Chapter 21..

DAY 121

“Sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
– Lewis Carroll

“The body needs to move, while the mind needs to stop and think.”

I turned 21 today! Some of my birthdays stick out as memorable ones, and this will definitely be one of them. Not for some of the more typical reasons why 21st birthdays are remembered, but because of the sheer kindness, thoughtfulness, love, and friendship I’ve felt not only today, but reaching back into the last week or so. I think this is one of the reasons why I do love birthdays so much – reconnecting with friends and family. Seeing that you are loved and cared for. I find myself wondering if I’d be missed sometimes, and days like this help me realize that people remember me. They care for me, and love me and want to spend time with me. I’ve tried to thank and speak with everyone who reached out today, but just in case I missed anyone – Thank You and I Love You!

Here are some of the highlights! Last night, I came home from H’s house to find the Happy Birthday banner hung in front of my doorway. I then discovered my awesome little light-up “It’s My Birthday” badge. This morning, I woke up, got ready, hopped in my car to go to M’s house and was shocked to see 2 cards and a plaque that read “It’s 5 o’clock somewhere” in the passenger’s seat! I snapped a quick picture, read the cards, and headed to Starbucks. : ) M greeted me with the cutest rendition of “Happy Birthday” and a big hug when I arrived. There was even a note for me on the chalkboard! Mom stopped by for lunch, bearing gifts (thank you mommy!), which M couldn’t wait to try on – new shoes and the top to one of the boxes. N stopped by shortly after with M. I was so excited to see them! M was my birthday gift unwrapper! (N you are too sweet!) I came home to find cards from a few relatives, not to mention a huge number of Facebook notifications (thank you FB family!). I was off to school, greeted with even more unexpected birthday well-wishes! It wasn’t the fact that I received things – for me, it’s knowing that someone thought to take time out of their day to do something special for someone else, who just happened to be me. The conversations, visits, moments, everything made today a great and very memorable day. Again, Thank You!

I am thankful for: making it to 21 and being such a lucky girl to have an amazing group of people in my life.

B.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

