We’re In The Station..

DAY 156

So we weren’t exactly in any station, but M was certainly out to convince me that the parking garage next to the Durham Ballpark was the train station. You know, since there was a train car there and all. Hello-o, Brittany! We had so much fun and the place was deserted, with the occasional sighting of a local employee sitting on the patio enjoying lunch. We checked out all of the water features, made wishes, and [of course] saw the train car! Interested in checking it out yourself? [Because you should be!] Here is the website for the American Tobacco Campus.

And this is the latest movie obsession M has. A personal favorite as well. The main message? Follow your dreams. Whatever you believe is possible. (I just don’t know why that resonates with me so..) Check out the trailer!

In other news.. I received a call I’ve been waiting for for a couple months. I finally got my call back! Don’t get too excited, it’s only for platelet donation. Ok, so I’m really excited! : ) In all honesty, I’ve been truly inspired by the passing of my cousin to donate – absolutely whatever I can. C passed away when I was little. I remember pretty clearly what that time was like. There was absolute heartbreak at the passing of someone so young, devastation in the family and among friends. But what stands out more than anything in my mind is how almost comforting it was to know that he was going to help people. I wanted my license for the little red heart you get when you state that you wish to be an organ donor more than anything else. I could have honestly cared less about the driving part. Next step was reaching the age of eligibility for blood donation. I spent a summer volunteering with the American Red Cross, just itching to be that person in the donor’s chair. One thing or another prevented me from being able to donate until this past spring. REX visited (no, not the one from Toy Story, but that would have been totally cool with me too) my college campus for a blood donation event. I was finally able to make an appointment! Once I arrived, they handed me the standard paperwork to fill out, but also asked if I was interested in platelet donation. I’d heard quite a bit about it and had even inquired about volunteering with those donors when I was with the Red Cross, so I had a good deal of background information. I filled out the application sheet, said my good byes, and made my way to the donation bus anxious for the 8 weeks to pass by for my phone call to donate platelets. Well folks, they called and I’m going to make my appointment this week! I couldn’t be happier.

“We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”
– Winston Churchill

“There is nothing that harvests more of a feeling of empowerment than being of service to someone in need.”
– Gillian Anderson, tweeted by This Shirt Helps

We had our pilates class tonight in Somatics! Guess who remembered her stretchy pants? Yep! This girl. It was challenging, to say the least, but so worth it! (For the record, no post-workout soreness is present at the moment. Happiness is subject to change.) I still like my Pop Pilates chick, Cassey! Here’s how to locate her on Youtube. She’s amazing! You won’t regret any of her workouts. Well, as long as you’re ok with a tiny little bit of soreness for a few days post-workout. : ) Still, totally worth it.

I am thankful for: random adventures and the gift of giving.

B.

The moon was gorgeous tonight. It was a back light for the clouds, but this was the only picture that turned out anywhere near decipherable.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

