Cheesily Happy..

DAY 170

“Anything’s possible if you’ve got enough nerve.” – J.K. Rowling

With you here, I know that life is much more fun. –Pooh

“Ambition and love are the wings to great deeds.” – Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

“The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance.” – Aristotle

“Yay, I’m cheesy!” will probably be one of my favorite M quotes ever. I always start out this conversation by saying, “Raise your hand if you’re cheesy!” I raise my hand. He raises both & proudly proclaims that he is cheesy. Kids are awesome.

Today’s national holiday list? Glad you asked! Allow me to be the first to let you know that today was National Go Fishing Day, National Splurge Day, & International Panic Day. There’s a winner of a trio for ya! I thought holidays were happy occasions, not let’s think about rebuilding that bomb shelter, honey.

I purchased Tara Stiles‘ book Yoga Cures. I’m so stoked to finally get to check out more of the info in just a bit. Deepak Chopra wrote the Forward to the book & it was great! I read most of Tara’s intro for the book. She seems like such a down-to-earth, trustworthy person who is following her passion & actually cares about others. I love it!! She’s even part of the do #yogaanywhere movement that Shape Magazine is involved with as well. I’m inspired by and excited to try yoga anywhere!

The topic in class tonight was stress. I thought it was pretty ironic to have a “problem” & “solution” pop up in my life the same day! I love yoga and always find it to be a calming, rejuvenating, relaxing time spent for me. Go find that thing that calms you down, refocuses your attention to what really matters. Don’t be intimidated by yoga! Here are some of the bestest quotes I’ve found about yoga from Tara’s book (I only read for like 15 minutes, but I still got some great info!)..

“Yoga brings you back to you…where all the good stuff is.”

“If you think you know yoga, or have never tried it because it seemed too woo-woo, chant-filled, mystical, and Om-centered (translate: OMG, I’m so bored!) then you should check this book [Yoga Cures] out.”

“Wherever you go, there you are.”

“You can do anything you want with your life!”

“Ujjayi breathing in yoga, referred to often as Darth Vader breath, stimulates your vagus nerve, which literally sets off signals that make you happy.”

(my personal favorite..)

I firmly believe that when enough people understand and experience the transformative and healing power of a regular yoga practice, we will become not only radiantly healthy as a culture, but more compassionate toward ourselves and others – happier, joyful, and full of life.”

“When the stress melts away, creativity can come out to play.”

“Yoga is a moving meditation that unites the inner and outer you.”

“Yoga is the ultimate act of self-study.”

I guess I should have just highlighted the first chapter? : )

Alrighty, my last discovery of the day is a little spritzer recipe. It calls for:

1 oz H2O
5 drops Eucalyptus essential oil
5 drops Peppermint essential oil
8 drops Grapefruit essential oil
combined in a mister/spray bottle

It smells wonderful! I now understand why it’s titled “Invigorating Mist”.

I am thankful for: yoga!

B.

PS: All my pictures were yellow – I didn’t do that on purpose, but pretty cool!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

