At The “Ding”, Turn The Page..

DAY 218

I know it is, because when I look at you, I can feel it. And I look at you, and I’m home. –Dory (Finding Nemo)

“To lose patience is to lose the battle.” – Mahatma Gandhi

“My interest is in the future because I am going to spend the rest of my life there.” – Charles Kettering

 “I restore myself when I’m alone.” – Marilyn Monroe

“Pull the string, and it will follow wherever you wish. Push it, and it will go nowhere at all.” – Dwight Eisenhower

Reading has always been a huge part of my life. When I was little, my parents read to me. As I grew older, books became my place of refuge, camaraderie, & escape. Nothing has lasted so long in my life as my love of books & stories.

I love that I can share that with the tiny humans I get to spend my days with! They love stories. Each has his or her own preference, of course, but there is that hunger for knowledge, adventure, & escape!

Today, while looking for books for the little ones, I got a little piece of my childhood back. And I’m not just referring to the part of the day that involved testing out mattresses and bouncing on beds. My mommy gave me a Dr. Seuss book!! One that I’ve recently become even more fond of – Oh, the Places You’ll Go! I couldn’t be happier!! I also got The Little Red Caboose and Scuffy the Tugboat. Even my dad lit up when I showed him Scuffy!

I am thankful for: the gift of reading. alone and with others.

B.

This is a song that’s been popping up a lot this week for me – I hope you enjoy!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

